Malta boasts a long standing history of inhabitants and rulers before it became a republic in 1974 after gaining independence from the United Kingdom in 1964. The archipelago consists of three main islands: Malta, Gozo and Comino and is situated just over 90km south of Sicily and 288km east of Tunisia. Its convenient physical location combined with its political presence in the European Union make it an ideal candidate as an international business hub facilitating connections between Europe and Africa.

The widespread knowledge of second languages makes Malta one of the most multi-lingual countries in the EU. On average, locals speak a third language, generally Italian, French or German in addition to the country’s two official languages Maltese and English. Malta became a full member of the European Union on the 1st of May 2004 and joined the Eurozone on the 1st of January 2008.

Sparkasse Bank Malta plc 101 Townsquare, Ix-Xatt ta' Qui-si-Sana, Sliema SLM3112, Malta
Tel: +356 21 335 705 / Fax: +356 21 335 710